ADDRESS DELIVERED BY HIS ROYAL MAJESTY OBA SEMIUDEEN ORIMADEGUN KASALI, EMUGORIADE 1, ADEBORUWA OF IGBOGBO – AT HIS OFFICIAL PRESENTATION OF STAFF OF OFFICE BY THE GOVERNOR OF LAGOS STATE, HIS EXCELLENCY MR. AKINWUNMI AMBODE ON MONDAY 25TH, JULY 2016.

 

IMG-20160720-WA0017

The newly installed Adeboruwa of Igbogbo, Oba Semiudeen Orimadegun Kasali, Emugoriade I

Your Excellency, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, the Governor of Lagos State,

Your Excellency, Dr. Oluranti Adebule, Deputy Governor of Lagos State,

The speaker, Lagos State House of Assembly

Secretary to the State Government, Mr. Tunji Bello,

Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (Lagos East Senatorial District), Senator Gbenga  Bareehu Ashafa

Commissioner for Local Government and Community Affairs Mr. Muslim Oloruntele Folami

Special Adviser on Local Government, Community and Communication.

Special Adviser on Art and Culture, Hon. (Chief) Mrs. Adebimpe Akinsola,

The Majority Leader, Lagos State House of Assembly, Hon. S.O.B. Agunbiade,

Member, Lagos State House of Assembly, Ikorodu Constituency 2, Hon. Nurudeen Solaja,

Members of the State Executive Council,

The Commissioner of Police, Lagos State,

Present and Past Permanent Secretaries,

 

Your Royal Majesty, the Ayangbure of Ikorodu, Oba (Engr.) Kabiru Adewale Shotobi, and other Royal Majesties in Ikorodu Division,

Present and Past Federal and Lagos State Governments top official,

The Sole Administrator of Igbogbo Baiyeku LCDA,

The Olisa and former Regent of Igbogbo Kingdom, Traditional and Honourary Chiefs,

Our Highly respected Kingmakers of Igbogbo Kingdom

Members of Royal Families here present, particularly the Olotu Ebi of my Royal Lineage, Baba Nosirudeen Oyetade Igu

Members of Emugoriade Branch of Ijaolu Royal Family

My dear good people of Igbogbo Kingdom.

Relations and Friends here present,

Members of the Press,

Distinguished Ladies and Gentlemen.

I acknowledge the greatness of the Almighty Allah, God of the Universe, the creator and Orisa-Nla who has made today possible and forever I shall be of immense appreciation to how He has been manifesting Himself in my life.

I thank His Excellency, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode and the entire State Cabinet and Principal Officers and members of the Lagos State House of Assembly for their supports.

My special appreciation to the Adeboruwa kingmakers who midwife the obaship process and deemed me fit and competent to ascend the throne of Adeboruwa. Likewise, I greet the entire Adeboruwa Ruling Houses of Igbogbo Kingdom including my own Ijaolu Ruling House for the support and trust repose in me to ascend the throne on their behalf. Also, to the residents and good people of Igbogbo Kingdom for their moral, spiritual and other supports in making today a reality.

My profound gratitude goes to the Permanent Vice Chairman, Lagos State Council of Obas & Chiefs (HRM Oba (Engr.) Kabiru Adewale Shotobi, the Ayangbure of Ikorodu), other Royal Majesties in Ikorodu Division,

Indeed, my appreciation also goes to the Permanent Chairman, Lagos State Council of Obas and Chiefs, HRM Oba Riliwan Aremu  Akiolu (Olowo Eko) and member of the Council.

This event marks as a turning point in the affairs of Igbogbo Kingdom and Ikorodu Division in general. We shall practice an open-door policy and everyone shall have opportunity to contribute his or her quota. Our plan is to rebrand Igbogbo Kingdom, facilitate socio-economic developments, encourage cultural rebirth, improve our traditional status, propagate Igbogbo Kingdom tourism potentials and maximize her human and material resources for the benefit of the Kingdom. This is our pledge and we are assured that God will grant us the ability, capacity and capability to succeed. Amen.

I am using this opportunity to appreciate my co-contestants, the Royal Princes to the Adeboruwa stool. Their interests added colour to the contest and showed that Igbogbo Kingdom is endowed with quality men. I cannot do it alone, thus I call on all and sundry to come around with me to develop strategies with which we can move the Kingdom forward. Certainly, we are from royal lineage, whereas, princes and princesses do not wage war like a mere slave- “Omo Oba kii jagun bi eru”.

Same to the other ruling houses still contesting my emergence, I say to them that it is only God that crowns an Oba and in this case, I have been the chosen one. I humbly seek for your understanding and supports. I appeal to you that we should avoid going back to the period between 1979 and 1990s, when the falcon was unable to hear the falconer and we are still witnesses to the effects. As an officer in the temple of justice, I will defend your rights to seek justice whenever you feel aggrieved but in this case, the custodians of Igbogbo culture and tradition and the entire Igbogbo people have spoken and since we can only have one king at a time, I am again soliciting for your supports and I assure you that when the dust settles we shall collectively look into our existence and adjust where necessary.

I  cannot forget to thank my professional colleague, my colleague in Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development, Lagos State Physical Planning Permit Authority, Lagos State Building Control Agency, Lagos State Urban Renewal Agency and Lagos State Government in general, My immediate and extended family, particularly my Oloris and children for your support and endurance. I sincerely love you all.

On this note, I humbly accept the anointment of God, selection of the custodians of Igbogbo culture and tradition, and the mandate of the generality of Igbogbo Kingdom, as the next Adeboruwa of Igbogbo Kingdom. I promise to use this position to further the course of Igbogbo Kingdom in particular and Ikorodu and Lagos in general. So help me God.

Long live Igbogbo Kingdom

Long live Ikorodu Division

Long live Lagos State

Long live Federal Republic of Nigeria

Thank you all and God bless.

HRM ALAIYELUWA OBA SEMIUDEEN ORIMADEGUN KASALI. LLB (HON) BL. LLM

EMUGORIADE 1, ADEBORUWA OF IGBOGBO KINGDOM

Leave a Reply

