All Set For Second Independence Day Mini-Marathon

By Kunle Adelabu, Boluwatife Hassan & Rabbiat Anjorin


Oba Shotobi, the Ayangbure of Ikorodu unveiling the re-branded mini-marathon at the Aynagbure palace, Ikorodu

The organizers of the much anticipated second edition of Independence Day Mini-Marathon among secondary schools in Ikorodu Division are set to stage an event that would stay long in participant’s and people’s memories.

In an interactive session with THE IMPACT crew at Hon. Agunbiade’s Constituency Building, along Awolowo way, Ikorodu,the organisers while assuring of an eventful race, explained that over 500 participants are being expected for this year’s race from about 200 schools across the six Local Government and Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in Ikorodu Division.

The mini-marathon which was an idea of the Majority Leader, Lagos State House of assembly, Hon. Sanai Agunbiade was rebranded few weeks back and renamed Oba Kabir Shotobi Independence Day Mini-Marathon.

According to the chairman, Independence Day Mini-Marathon Planning Committee, Mr Akeem Bello, “We are expecting more than 500 participants from over 200 public and private schools in Ikorodu Division to participate in this year’s tournament and there are prizes for winners in female and male categories including runner-ups. Likewise, there are many consolatory prizes for many participants”

“As our media partner, you are aware that what used to be Hon. Agunbiade Independence Day Mini-Marathon has been rebranded and named after Oba Shotobi, our revered monarch whose activities in developing Ikorodu is commendable” Mr Bello explained.

Also speaking with THE IMPACT during the interactive session, Mr Oluwakemi Buraimo, the Public Relations Officer of Onward Movement of Nigeria, the operational body of Hon. Agunbiade, assured participants and generality of Ikorodu Division residents of historic and well-organized race.

“We are aware of the people’s expectations and we are adequately prepared for the second edition of the mini-marathon. The participants and the people are assured of a perfect outing. Necessary security, medical, emergency, social and needed logistics have been mobilized for outstanding event. We understand the enormity of the challenge because it is no longer Ikorodu Constituency I affairs. Due to popular demands and our aim of spreading the benefit of representation, the mini-marathon has  been extended to include Ikorodu Constituency II”, Buraimo stated.

Among dignitaries expected to grace this occasion are the Honourable Commissioner for Youths and Social Development, Director-General, Sports Commission, Chairman, Lagos State Sports Commission and Chairman, Lagos State House of Assembly Committee on Sports, Hon. Adedamola Kasumu, Hon. Ogunyemi Lanre, Hon. Nurudeen Solaja, HRM Oba Kabir Shotobi, the Ayangbure of Ikoridu, HRM Oba Ajibade Agoro, the Ranodu of Imota, Oba Richard Ogunsanya, the Olubeshe of Ibeshe and Oba Akeem Oyebo, the Obateru of Egbin, Sole Administrators in Ikorodu Division, Tutor-General, Education District II, Maryland and political leaders.

This year’s race on October 1st is slated for 7am and expected to flag-off at Ayangbure palace, Ikorodu and terminate at Police Barracks Playing Ground, Igbogbo road, Ikorodu.

The route for the marathon is as follows: Ayangbure palace – Lowa – Water Corporation (Lagos Road) – Ikorodu Garage Roundabout – Sabo Market – Kokoro Abu – Awolowo Road – Ota Ona – Obun Ale market – Ita Elewa – Ireshe Road – Sheriff junction – Igbogbo road and berth finally at Police Barracks Playing Ground.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: