Marginalization of Ikorodu: Former NBA Chairman Threatens To Sue State Government

Kunle Adelabu


Barr. Saheed Shillings

-Deplores reduction in Ikorodu’s representation at the Assembly, seeks for increase

-Wants govt to address LG issue

If the Lagos State Government failed to act quickly on the alleged marginalization of Ikorodu division regarding representation especially at the Lagos State House of Assembly, it may be dragged before the court to explain the rationale behind the reduction of state lawmakers from Ikorodu division from three to two.

Barrister. Saheed O. Kolawole Shillings, a legal practitioner and former Chairman, Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Ikorodu branch, has given a notice to commence court action against the governor of Lagos State, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode and Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa in this regard.

In his letter titled, ‘Re: Marginalization of Ikorodu Division In The Representation In The Lagos State House of Assembly, Request For Amicable Resolution/Notice of Intention To Take Legal Action’, and dated December 14, 2016, Barr. Shillings sought for a peaceful resolution. He had earlier written a letter to the Governor and others dated October 1, 2016, calling for redress on the alleged marginalization.

“I seek for peaceable resolution of the issue raised, to wit: that Ikorodu Division with 6 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) cannot be represented by 2 members in a 40-member Assembly in a State that has 57 LCDAs. Moreso, that the same Division was represented by 3 members in 1979-1983 when the membership was 36.

Barr. Shillings who stated that the 20 Local Government(LG) structure no longer exist in the state save for the collection of Federal allocations. He also argued that since the election into the acclaimed Local Government Councils are not different from Local Council Development Areas and that elected or appointed LG helmsmen do not have any supervisory role over the LCDAs counterpart, then, the state must accept the reality and its implications.

He demanded that the 57 LGs and LCDAs arrangement should represent the new standard of equity in resource allocation.

“My simple demand is that since no part of Lagos State has complained about 57 Local Council Development Areas, they represent the new standard of equity in resource allocation. I therefore urge that the representation in the State Assembly should follow that equity such that the 6 LCDAs of Ikorodu Division, which was one of the original 5 Administrative Divisions of the State, is represented by 2 members if the membership in the House of Assembly is pruned to down to 19; by 3 if the membership is 28 or 29 and 4 if the number is 38.  In order words, it should be equal to 6 as a fraction of 57.

“All that is required is a proclamation or directive from Your Excellency’s esteemed office of the House of Assembly after due consideration

“Take notice however that, in the unlikely event of the failure of amicable resolution of this issue or effort at all, I, in conjunction with associates, will be constrained to take out an originating summons for the evaluation of the issue by the appropriate Court,” Shillings threatened.

In a chat with our reporter in his office, Barr Shillings stated, “Historically, the 1st and 2nd Assemblies of the State had 36 members in which Ikorodu Division had 3 slots. This clearly shows the injustice to the Division that when the number increased, our slots decreased.

“It is also noteworthy that Ikorodu Division has always voted for the ‘progressive’ tendencies even against its own illustrious sons and daughters, yet suffers marginalization in many areas”, he alleged.

Ikorodu’s Representation Since First Assembly In Lagos State

1st Assembly (October 2, 1979 – September 1983

Hon. Oladosu Oshinowo               Ikorodu Urban II              Speaker

Hon. Mukaila Adio Aluko               Ikorodu Urban I                 Member

Hon. Afolabi Oredoyin                   Igbogbo/Ijede/Imota      Member

2nd Assembly (October 1983)     

Hon. Afolabi Oredoyin                   Igbogbo/Ijede/Imota      Deputy Speaker

Hon. Alh. Mukaila Oke                   Ikorodu I                              Member

Hon. Chief Akintoye J. Atoloye   Ikorodu II                             Member

3rd Assembly (January 1992 – December 1983)

Hon. M.K. Sanni                                Ikorodu II                             Minority Leader

Hon. Alh. A.W.O Kassim                 Ikorodu I                              Member

4th Assembly (June 2, 1999 – 2003)

Hon. Ola Animasahun                    Ikorodu I                              Member

Hon. Hassan Saheed Adefarasin Ikorodu II                             Member

5th Assembly (June 2, 2003 – 2007)

Hon. Odesanya Sunmi Olanrewaju           Ikorodu I              Member

Hon. Hassan Adefarasin Saheed                Ikorodu II             Member

6th Assembly (June 4, 2007 – 2011)

Hon. Sanai Agunbiade                                    Ikorodu I              Member

Hon. Rotimi Sotomiwa (late)                       Ikorodu II             Member

7th Assembly (June 2011 – 2015)

Hon. Sanai Agunbiade                                    Ikorodu I              Member

Hon. Adebimpe Akinsola                              Ikorodu II             Member

8th Assembly (June 2015-2019)

Hon. Sanai Agunbiade                                    Ikorodu I              Majority Leader

Hon. Nurudeen Solaja                                    Ikorodu II             Member

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: