Hon. Agunbiade Honoured As ‘2016 Ikorodu Man of The Year’

Wale Jagun & Augustine Onus.


Hon. Sanai Agunbiade, the Majority Leader, Lagos State House of Assembly after being honoured as the 2016 ‘Ikorodu Man of the Year Award’ (IMOYA), during a well-attended ceremony in Ikorodu

It was an emphatic pronouncement by the generality of Ikorodu Division residents on Sunday, February 26, 2017, when the Majority Leader of the Lagos State House of Assembly and the Opomulero of Ikorodu, Hon. Sanai Oyeniran Bolanle Agunbiade, was honoured as the ‘2016 Ikorodu Man of the Year Award’ (IMOYA).

The event, which was the second edition of the award, was organized by Starlight Communications and it took place at the Ikorodu town Hall in Ikorodu, Lagos State, Nigeria.

The State Assembly Majority Leader who was recently bestowed with another important award as the ‘Best Lawmaker (Plenary)’ in the Lagos State House of Assembly, emerged as the winner of the 2016 IMOYA ahead of other contestants such as Hon. Babajimi Benson, Member, Federal House of Representatives, High Chief Tajudeen Onasanya, the Odofin of Igbogbo, Chief Wale Amusa, Director, HOMAT Group of Schools, Hon. Saka Nurudeen Solaja, Member, Lagos State House of Assembly, Prince Adewunmi Ogunsanya, Chairman, MultiChoice and Mr Lanre Olabinjo, leader of the Onyabo Vigilante Group among others.


Hon Agunbiade (5th left) with his wife, Alhaja Tairat Agunbiade (3rd right) on the podium receiving the ‘Ikorodu Man of the Year Award’ from HRM Oba Kabiru Shotobi, the Aayngbure of Ikorodu represented by Sir Otunba Ayodele Elesho (2nd right). From Left, Alhaji Agunbiade, Otunba Oyebola (Chairman, IKODASS), Asiwaju Olorunfunmi Basorun and HRM Oba Richard Ogunsanya during the presentation of the ‘Ikorodu Man of the Year Award’

Asipa Kaoli Olusanya, former Commissioner for Agriculture & Cooperatives, Lagos State and the Chairman of the Occasion, in his address described Hon. Agunbiade as “a person whom God has not only given the mandate but also the capacity to perform and represent his people very well”.

In his keynote address, Barr. Saheed Kolawole Shillings while recounting the Teachers College days with the recipient, adjudged him as an activist, community builder, a politician of note and a leader who deserve the award.

Barr. Shillings also commended the organizer of the award, Starlight Magazine, for the good initiative.


The star winner, Hon. Sanai Agunbiade (3rd right), Oloye Oye Solebo (2nd right) and Mr Segun Anifowoshe (right). Others were Comrade Adedeji Fatuga, Hon. Shukurat Okeowo (2nd left) and Comarde (Mrs) Kehinde Okeowo in group photograph during tyhe award in Ikorodu.

HRM Oba Kabiru Adewale Shotobi, the Ayangbure of Ikorodu, who was represented by Otunba (Sir) Ayodele Elesho, a former Commissioner for Information and Strategy in Lagos State, in his royal blessing speech described the recipient of IMOYA 2016 as a blessing to Ikorodu, Lagos State and humanity in general.

Kabiyesi stated that it was due to Hon Agunbiade’s selfless service, unrelenting commitment and dedication towards the development of Ikorodu that made him bestowed the important title of ‘Opomulero’ (Pillar) of Ikorodu on him last year.

Other receipients of awards in other categories were Oloye Oye Solebo, Chairman Ikorodu Division Resource Development Group (2016 Most Outstanding Personality in Ikorodu Division), Comrade (Mrs) Kehinde Okeowo (2016 Most Outstanding Advocate for Community Development) and Comrade Adedeji Fatuga (2016 Most Outstanding Youth)

Others were Mr Segun Anifowoshe, Sole Administrator, Ikorodu west local Council Development Area, who was adjudged as the ‘Most Outsnading Sole Administrator in Ikorodu Division’ and Hon. (Mrs) Shukurat Okeowo, Sole administrator, Ikorodu North Local Council Development Area, who also received a ‘Special Recognition Award for Grassroots Projects’.

Among the dignitaries that graced the occasion were Oba Richard Ogunsanya, Olubeshe of Ibeshe, Asiwaju Olorunfunmi Basorun, Chief Dele Olowu, Yeye Fausat Gbadebo, Col. Titi Onafowokan, Alhaji Ganiyu Abiru, Alhaji Musliu Animashaun, Alhaji Gafaar M.A, Chieftain of All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos East Senatorial District, Alhaji Folorunsho Lamidi, Alhaji Badru Enifeni, Arch. Taiwo Kara, High Chief Alliu Musediq, Regent/Olisa of Ijede, Hon. Nurudeen Solaja, Member Lagos State House of Asembly, Mr Adeola Banjo, former Executive Secretary, Ikorodu North LCDA, Comrade Lateef Oduguwa,Chairman,Nigeria Union of Teachers, Ikorodu branch and Mr Levi Adikwaone, Chairman, Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Ikorodu branch, among many others.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: