Ikorodu Teachers Elect New Chairman, Executive Committee For NUT

Kunle Adelabu.




Asiwaju Lateef Oduguwa, the outgone chairman raising Comrade Fakolade hand in victory after the was returned by the Electoral Officers as the new chairman of Ikorodu NUT on Thursday.

Teachers across the 125 primary and secondary schools in Ikorodu Division defied the early morning downpour to converge  on the Teachers’ House in Ikorodu to elect Comrade Fakolade Oluwaseun Oluwafemi as the new chairman, Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), Ikorodu branch.

The newly elected executives would steer the affairs of the Ikorodu  branch of the Nigeria Union of Teachers for the next four years (2017 to 2021).

744 delegates were cleared for the election which commenced around 12pm after the Quadrennial Delegates’ Conference at the NUT House located within the premises of Oga , Methodist and Ayangbure Primary Schools, Ikorodu .

Comrade Fakolade Oluwafemi, the immediate past NUT Secretary defeated  Alhaji Zulkhadeen Omotunde Muyideen to  emerge as the new elected chairman of the branch, while Comrade Aleshinloye Kehinde Sunday defeated Comrade Fajebe Babatunde Onasanya to claim the position of the branch secretary.

Comrade Lateef Oduguwa, the outgone branch chairman, in his address at the Quadrennial Delegates’ Conference on Thursday, May 25, 2017, thanked the teachers for the support given to his two term administration.



“Today, we remain the only branch of NUT in Lagos State that solely financed the building of a modern secretariat for our union. We are bold to display letters of non-indebtedness from our finance houses.”

“We have been able to empower our women through entrepreneurship programmes in order to be independent. We have also established relationship with all stakeholders in the educational sector.”


Teachers from the Technical College, Ikorodu about to cast their votes on Thursday.

“Information dissemination has been our source of link with our members through the News Flash and text messages. Today, we have consistently provided supports to our members regarding their promotions.”

In other results of the election announced at around 7pm Comrade Giwa Basirat Kemi  defeated Comrade Alliu Babatunde Bukanla for the position of Deputy Chairman, ComradeEsan Adefunke Oluranti defeated Comrade Ahigbe Idiat Omolara for the position of 1st Vice chairman, Comrade Senuga Bolaji Oluwaseyi beat Comrade Enilolobo Jimmy Babatunde to emerge 2nd Vice Chairman and Comrade Lawal Lukman beat Comrade oladejo J.O for the position of 3rd Vice Chairman.


Others are Comrade Sonoiki Folajimi olufunsho who emerged as the Treasurer after beating Comrade Oyeledun Olubusola Itunu, Comrade Olabiwonnu Olakunle defeated Odupitan Bolaji for the position of Publicity Secretary and Comrade Sanni Modinat Tinuola emerged as the Assistant Secretary beating Comrade Omilola Ganiu Adebola.

For the position of Social Secretary, Comrade Agunloye Phebean Bimpe emerged the winner beating Comrade Fareo Adedotun, Comrade Dawodu Temitope Tairu beat Comrade Baruwa Taiwo for the position of Financial Secretary, while Comrades Alaro Shakirudeen Goriola and Comarde Audu Kolawole Jamiu emerged Auditor I and II respectively beating Comrade Oluwafemi Senami Philipa and Comrade Olusajo Oluseyi and Adedigba.





The Returning Officer addressing the agents and delegates before the commencement of voting in Ikorodu on Thursday

At 7.30pm, the Chairman-elect, Comrade Fakolade Oluwafemi mounted the stage to make his acceptance speech as Ikorodu Branch NUT Chairman for the next four years.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: