LG Elections: 3 Chairmanship, 24 Councillorship Candidates Emerged In Ikorodu Division PDP

Kunle Adelabu.

-Party sets to win three Chairmanship, Councillorship positions


Hon. Musliu Salau, Chairman, PDP Ikorodu Chapter (left) with three chairmanship candidates in Ikorodu Local Government, Alhaji Saheed Abolaji (2nd right), Chairmanship candidate in Imota, Mr Afinah Lookman Adewale (right) and the Chairmanship candidate for Ikorodu West LCDA, Mr Akintolayo Wilson Oluremi (2nd left)

Over 300 delegates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), across the six Local Government and Local council Development Areas(LCDA) in Ikorodu Division on Friday, May 26, 2017, gathered at the party’s secretariat in Ikorodu to elect Chairmanship, Vice and Councillorship candidates for the Local Government elections coming up later this year.

At the secretariat situated on Olubi Street, Ikorodu, executives and members of the main opposition party also vowed to win the three councils where they are presenting chairmanship candidates.

At the Congress which lasted for about three hours, Mr Saheed Abolaji, Mr Afinah Lookman Adewale and Mr Akintayo Wilson Oluremi emerged as the party’s Chairmanship candidates for Ikorodu Local Government, Ijede and Ikorodu West Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) respectively.

The peaceful congress comprised of delegates from Ikorodu Central (76), Ikorodu West LCDA (58), Ikorodu North LCDA (50), Ijede (50), Igbogbo/Bayeku (50) and Imota (50).


L-R, Hon. Salau, PDP Chairman, Mr Adeboye, LASIEC Officer and other guests at the primary election

Hon. Musliu Salau , the PDP Chairman in Ikorodu Division,while speaking with THE IMPACT stated that they are winning the three chairmanship positions in the three council areas they are fielding candidates.

“Our plan is to win the three councils where we are fielding chairmanship candidates as well as numerous councillorship positions across the division. Our candidates should start mobilizing for INEC registration and canvassing towards the general election”, he urged.

He also enjoined the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission(LASIEC) to be fair and just in the conduct of the coming council elections.

Also at the congress, Prince Kamilu Owoyele and Mrs Damilola O. Lawal also emerged as Vice Chairmanship candidates for Ikorodu Central LG and Ijede LCDA respectively.


Hon. Salau and other delegates from Ikorodu Central raising endorsing Alhaji Saheed Abolaji as the chairmanship candidate during the primary on Friday, May 26, 2017 at PDP Secretariat in Ikorodu

Mr Adeboye A.F, Ikorodu Division Electoral Officer for LASIEC,while speaking at the congress commended the party for the peaceful conduct of the election and  stated that the local government elections have been fixed for July 22, 2017.

“I commended you for the peaceful conduct of the election. I witnessed and confirmed that the delegates voted for all the chairmanship and councillorship candidates that emerged.”

“We are planing to meet with all the candidates across the political parties, political parties representatives, NGOs and security bodies before the conduct of the  elections which have been  fixed for July 22, 2017”, he stated.


Mr Babayemisi Emmanuel Kehinde, PDP Councillorship candidate for Ward E receiving massive endorsement of the delegates at the primary election.

“We want to discuss with them how we can conduct free and fair elections. At the meeting, we shall issue guidelines, collation centres and other important information that would be necessary for the conduct of free poll.”

“LASIEC is ready to give every candidate level playing ground in the coming poll. Our chairman is a woman of high integrity and honour and has assured that the commission will be fair to you all”,he assured.

Councillorship candidates that emerged at the congress  for the six councils in Ikorodu division are:

Ikorodu Central LG   


Hon. Omo Adugbo and other Ward E delegates endorsing Mr Banwo Alade Azeez as Ward E Councillorship candidate

Owolabi Michael Oluwatosin (Ward A), Bakare Kamoli (Ward B), Shokeyo Sheu Babatunde (Ward C), Banwo Alade Azeez (Ward D), Babayemisi Emmanuel Kehinde (Ward E), Mabunmi Omotayo Tosin (Ward F) and Olaoye wasiu Abolarinwa (Ward G).

Ikorodu North LCDA

Abiola Joseph Adegbenga (Ward A), Idris Kazeem Tolulope (Ward C) and Joshua Olusola Sunday (Ward D)

Ijede LCDA

Balogun Oludare Folusho (Ward A), Olambiwonu Olawale Rasaq (Ward B), Raji Adeola Adijat (Ward C) and Akinlonu Olugbenro Moses (Ward D).

Ikorodu West LCDA


Hon. Salau and delegates from Ikorodu West LCDA endorsing and presenting Mr Akintolayo Wilson Oluremi as the PDP Chairmanship Candidate for the coming LG election in Ikorodu West LCDA

Ogunbule luwaseun (Ward B), Akpata Monday Peter (Ward C), Sunmola Jamiu Oluawseun (Ward D) and Adenuga Olamide Abiodun (Ward E).

Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA

Alo Abimbola (Ward C) and Basanya Saheed Oluranti (Ward D)

Imota LCDA


Mr Afinah Lokman Adewale being presented by the PDP Chairman as the PDP Chairmanship candidate for Imota LCDA.

Segun Agoro (Ward A), Hammed Adebayo Ogunlau (Ward C) and Tijani Oluwaseye (Ward D)


1 Comment

  1. Salisu harfiz

    Balance report

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: