LG Elections 2017: Controversies Surrounding APC List Heighten As Candidates Fail To Show Up For Debate In Igbogbo

-We have not been given directive regarding list, APC Igbogbo

Kunle Adelabu.

Failure of the candidates of All Progressives Congress (APC) to show up for the political debate organised by Igbogbo Students’ Union (ISU),for the candidates vying for Chairmanship and Councillorship positions in Igbogbo/Bayeku Local Council Development Area in Ikorodu Division, has further heightened the controversies surrounding the list of the party’s candidates for the coming council elections.


The debate, which was held at the Adeboruwa palace in Igbogbo on Saturday, July 1, 2017, only had the presence of the Labour Party’s Chairmanship, Vice Chairmanship and Councillorship candidates.


The development also buttressed the position of the aggrieved members of the party that there is no list of approved candidates yet from the party.


Labour party candidates at the debate were Mr Adebowale Olayinka Ogunlaja, Chairmanship candidate and Mr Oduala Omoatyo Oluwaseun, Vice chairmanship candidate.


Others were Mr Adeyemi Akinloye Oshodi, Ward C1, Mr Ibrahim Ajibade, Ward C2, Mr Wasiu Adesina Ward C3 and Ayodele Amos Olugbare, Ward C4 Councillorship candidates.


According to the organizers of the debate, the APC candidates failed to show up on the ground that the party has not resolved controversies surrounding the selection of its flag bearers for the coming local council elections.


Speaking with THE IMPACT, Comrade Adeleke Aroyewun, Speaker of Igbogbo Students’ Union(ISU), simply stated, “We were told that it was due to party directive.”


Mr Toloulope Faniyi, a former President of the ISU, also stated, “We were told by the party chairman in Igbogbo/Bayeku and the candidates that they have not been cleared by the party and on that ground they cannot parade themselves as candidates.”


Another member of the union also told our reporter that, “Different stories were just flying around. While some of them are saying that they have not been given clearance to participate in the debate as candidates, another section of the party is saying that they are yet to have candidates and yet, some of them were requesting that they should be invited as aspirants.” Another former President of the Union while speaking on the failure of the APC candidates to attend the debate said, “It is shameful that no single APC candidate honoured the invitation to participate in the political debate organized by the Students’ Union. I’m sorry for our community. Na democracy be dis?” he asked.


It would be recalled that there was statements and counter-statements from the party on its position concerning its candidates for the chairmanship, vice chairmanship and councilorship positions.


Although, the  Lagos State chapter of the party has disowned a statement purportedly issued by its Secretariat that names submitted to Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission, LASIEC, for chairmanship and councillorship positions could still be substituted a week to the local government elections according to the electoral law, but the development in Igbogbo has further affirmed that the party can still change names of its candidates at anytime.


The development in Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA on July 1, which to many is a settled matter as the political combatants have sheathe their swords and embraced Comrade Sesan Daini and Mr Gbenga as APC Chairmanship and Vice Chairmanship candidates respectively, has however sent a warning signal to other parts of the state that nothing has been settled as far as candidacy of APC is concerned.


Councillorship candidates who have  emerged through consensus in Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA were, Mr Lekan Ashafa C1, Mr Wasiu Olowu, Ward C2, Mr Nurudeen Alimi C3, Mr Mathew Arowolo from C4 and Monsuru Kolejo, C5.


Meanwhile,Mr Adebowale Olayinka Ogunlaja, Labour Party’s Chairmanship candidate as well as the party’s Councillorship candidates for Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA,have enjoined electorate not to trust APC and its candidates with their votes since they lack organization and refused to appear before the people to tell them their agenda.


Attempts to reach APC chairmen in Ikorodu Central Local Government and Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA for their reactions proved abortive. We were also unable to reach Comrade Sesan Daini, the party’s chairmanship candidate in Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA, before press time.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: